2011 Literary Award Winners!




John Newbery Medal for most outstanding contribution to children’s literature

  • “Moon Over Manifest” by Clare Vanderpool (winner)
  • “Turtle in Paradise” by Jennifer L. Holm (honor)
  • “Heart of a Samurai” by Margi Preus (honor)
  • “Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night” by Joyce Sidman (honor)
  • “One Crazy Summer” by Rita Williams-Garcia (honor)

Randolph Caldecott Medal for most distinguished American picture book for children

  • “A Sick Day for Amos McGee” illustrated by Erin E. Stead, written by Philip C. Stead (winner)
  • “Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave” illustrated by Bryan Collier, written by Laban Carrick Hill (honor)
  • “Interrupting Chicken” illustrated and written by David Ezra Stein (honor)

Mildred L. Batchelder Award for an outstanding children’s book translated from a foreign language and subsequently published in the United States

  • “A Time of Miracles” written by Anne-Laure Bondoux, translated by Y. Maudet (winner)
  • “Departure Time” written by Truus Matti, translated by Nancy Forest-Flier (honor)
  • “Nothing” written by Janne Teller, translated by Martin Aitken (honor)

Pura Belpre (illustrator) Award honoring a Latino writer and illustrator whose children’s books best portray, affirm, and celebrate the Latino cultural experience

  • “Grandma’s Gift” illustrated and written by Eric Velasquez (winner)
  • “Fiesta Babies” illustrated by Amy Córdova, written by Carmen Tafolla (honor)
  • “Me, Frida” illustrated by David Diaz, written by Amy Novesky (honor)
  • “Dear Primo: A Letter to My Cousin” illustrated  and written by Duncan Tonatiuh (honor)

Pura Belpre (Author) Award

  • “The Dreamer” written by Pam Munoz Ryan, illustrated by Peter Sis (winner)
  • “Ole! Flamenco” written by George Ancona, photographs by George Ancona (honor)
  • “The Firefly Letters: A Suffragette’s Journey to Cuba” written by Margarita Engle (honor)
  • “90 Miles to Havana” written by Enrique Flores-Galbis

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for most distinguished beginning reader book

  • “Bink and Gollie” written by Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee, illustrated by Tony Fucile (winner)
  • “Ling & Ting: Not Exactly the Same!” written and illustrated by Grace Lin (honor)
  • “We Are in a Book!” written and illustrated by Mo Willems (honor)

Robert F. Sibert Medal for most distinguished informational book for children

  • “Kakapo Rescue: Saving the World’s Strangest Parrot” written by Sy Montgomery, photographs by Nic Bishop (winner)
  • “Ballet for Martha: Making Appalachian Spring” written by Jan Greenberg and Sandra Jordan, illustrated by Brian Floca (honor)
  • “Lafayette and the American Revolution” written by Russell Freedman (honor)

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award (awarded bi-yearly since 2001) honors an author or illustrator whose books (published in the United States) have made a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children over a period of years.

  • Tomie dePaola

Coretta Scott King (Author) book Award recognizing an African-American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults

  • “One Crazy Summer” written by Rita Williams-Garcia (winner)
  • “Lockdown” by Walter Dean Myers (honor)
  • “Ninth Ward” by Jewell Parker Rhodes
  • “Yummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty” by G. Neri, illustrated by Randy DuBurke

Coretta Scott King (illustrator) Book Award

  • “Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave,” illustrated by Bryan Collier, written by Laban Carrick Hill (winner)
  • “Jimi: Sounds Like a Rainbow: A Story of the Young Jimi Hendrix,” illustrated by Javaka Steptoe, written by Gary Golio (honor)

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award

  • Victoria Bond and T. R. Simon, authors of “Zora and Me”
  • Sonia Lynn Sadler, illustrator of “Seeds of Change,” written by Jen Cullerton Johnson

Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement first-ever award of Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement.  This award pays tribute to the quality and magnitude of beloved children’s author Virginia Hamilton.

  • Dr. Henrietta Mays Smith

Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience

  • “The Pirate of Kindergarten” by George Ella Lyon, illustrated by Lynne Avril (wins award for best young children ages 0 – 10)
  • “After Ever After” by Jordan Sonnenblick (wins award for middle grades, ages 11 – 13)
  • “Five Flavors of Dumb” by Antony John (wins teen award, ages 13 – 18)



Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18.

  • “The Boy Who Couldn’t Sleep and Never Had To” by DC Pierson,
  • “Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard” by Liz Murray
  • “Girl in Translation” by Jean Kwok
  • “The House of Tomorrow” by Peter Bognanni
  • “The Lock Artist” by Steve Hamilton
  • “The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake: A Novel” by Aimee Bender
  • “The Radleys” by Matt Haig
  • “The Reapers Are the Angels: A Novel” by Alden Bell
  • “Room: A Novel” by Emma Donoghue
  • “The Vanishing of Katharina Linden: A Novel” by Helen Grant

Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults

  • Sir Terry Pratchett

William C. Morris Award honors a book written by a first-time author for young adults

  • “The Freak Observer” by Blythe Woolston

YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults

  • “Janis Joplin: Rise Up Singing” by Ann Angel

Odyssey Award is awarded to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States.

  • “The True Meaning of Smekday” written by Adam Rex, narrated by Bahni Turpin  (winner)
  • “Alchemy and Meggy Swann” written by Karen Cushman, narrated by Katherine Kellgren  (honor)
  • “The Knife of Never Letting Go” written by Patrick Ness, narrated by Nick Podehl (honor)
  • “Revolution” written by Jennifer Donnelly, narrated by Emily Janice Card and Emma Bering (honor)
  • “will grayson, will grayson”, written by John Green and David Levithan, narrated by MacLeod Andrews and Nick Podehl (honor)

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults

  • “Ship Breaker” by Paolo Bacigalupi (winner)
  • “Stolen” by Lucy Christopher (honor)
  • “Please Ignore Vera Dietz” by A.S. King (honor)
  • “Revolver” by Marcus Sedgwick (honor)
  • “Nothing” by Janne Teller (honor)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


2 Responses

  1. […] &#1110nt&#959 extra: 2011 Literary Ch&#959&#1110&#1089&#1077 Winners! « MCPL Kids Blog Related Posts:Read the ALA 2011 Book Award Winners Challenge Margaret A. Edwards Award honors an […]

  2. […] Original post: 2011 Literary Award Winners! « MCPL Kids Blog […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: