2010 Literary Award Winners!

John Newbery Medal for most outstanding contribution to children’s literature

  • “When You Reach Me” by Rebecca Stead  (winner)
  • “Claudette Colvin:  Twice Toward Justice” by Phillip Hoose  (honor)
  • “The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate” by Jacqueline Kelly (honor)
  • “Where the Mountain Meets the Moon” by Grace Lin  (honor)
  • “The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg”  (honor)

Randolph Caldecott Medal for most distinguished American picture book for children

  • “The Lion & the Mouse” written and illustrated by Jerry Pinkney,   (winner)
  • “”All the World” by Liz Garton Scanlon, illustrated by Marla Frazee  (honor)
  • “Red Sings from Treetops:  A Year in Colors” by Joyce Sidman, illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski  (honor)

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults

  • “Going Bovine” by Libba Bray  (winner)
  • “Charles and Emma:  The Darwins’ Leap of Faith” by Deborah Heiligman  (honor)
  • “The Monstrumologist” by Rick Yancey  (honor)
  • “Punkzilla” by Adam Rapp  (honor)
  • “Tales of the Madman Underground:  An Historical romance, 1973” by John Barnes  (honor)

Coretta Scott King (Author) book Award recognizing an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults

  • “Bad News for Outlaws:  The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshal” by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson  (winner)
  • “Mare’s War” by Tanita S. Davis  (honor)

Coretta Scott King (illustrator) Book Award

  • “My People” by Langston Hughes, illustrated by Charles R. Smith Jr.  (winner)
  • “The Negro Speaks of Rivers” by Langston Hughes, illustrated by E.B. Lewis  (honor)

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award

  • “The Rock and the River” by Kekla Magoon  (winner)

Pura Belpre (illustrator) Award honoring a Latino writer and illustrator whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience

  • “Book Fiesta!  Celebrate Children’s Day/Book Day; Celebremos El dia de los ninos/el dia de los libros” by Pat Mora, illustrated by Rafael Lopez  (winner)
  • “Diego:  Bigger Than Life” by Carmen T. Barnier-Grand, illustrated by David Diaz  (honor)
  • “My Abuelita” by Tony Johnston, illustrated by Yuyi Morales  (honor)
  • “Gracias Thanks” by Pat Mora, illustrated by John Parra  (honor)

Pura Belpre (Author) Award

  • “Return to Sender” by Julia Alvarez (winner)
  • “Diego:  Bigger Than Life” by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand  (honor)
  • “Federico Garcia Lorca” by Georgina Lazaro (honor)

Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience

  • “Django” by Bonnie Christensen  (wins award for best young children ages 0 – 10)
  • “Anything But Typical” by Nora Raleigh Baskin  (wins award for middle grades, ages 11 – 13)
  • “Marcelo in the Real World” by Francisco X. Stork  (wins teen award, ages 13 – 18)

William C. Morris Award honors a book written by a first-time author for young adults

  • Flash Burnout” by L.K. Madigan

Odyssey Award is awarded for excellence in audiobook production

  • “Louise, the Adventures of a Chicken” by Kate DiCamillo, narrated by Barbara Rosenblat  (winner)
  • “In the Belly of the Bloodhound:  Being an Account of a Particularly Peculiar Adventure in the Life of Jacky Faber” by L.A. Meyer, narrated by Katherine Kellgren  (honor)
  • “Peace, Locomotion” by Jacqueline Woodson, narrated by Dion Graham  (honor)
  • “We Are The Ship:  The Story of Negro League Baseball” by Kadir Nelson, narrated by Dion Graham  (honor)

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for most distinguished beginning reader book

  • “Benny and Penny in the Big No-No!” by Geoffrey Hayes  (winner)
  • “I Spy Fly Guy!” by Tedd Arnold  (honor)
  • “Little Mouse Gets Ready” by Jeff Smith  (honor)
  • “Mouse and Mole:  Fine Feathered Friends”  (honor)
  • “Pearl and Wagner:  One Funny Day” by Kate McMullan  (honor)

Robert F. Sibert Medal for most distinguished informational book for children

  • “Almost Astronauts:  13 Women Who Dared to Dream” by Tanya Lee Stone  (winner)
  • “The Day-Glo Brothers:  The True Story of Bob and Joe Switzer’s Bright Ideas and Brand-New Colors” by Chris Barton  (honor)
  • “Moonshot:  The Flight of Apollo 11” by Brian Floca  (honor)
  • “Claudette Colvin:  Twice Toward Justice: by Phillip Hoose  (honor)

YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award is the first-ever Young Adult Library Services Association Excellence in Nonfiction Award

  • “Charles and Emma:  The Darwins’ Leap of Faith” by Deborah Heiligman

Mildred L. Batchelder Award for an outstanding children’s book translated from a foreign language and subsequently published in the United States

  • “A Faraway Island” by Annika Thor  (winner)
  • “Big Wolf and Little Wolf” by Nadine Brun-Cosme  (honor)
  • “Eidi” by Bodil Bredsdorff  (honor)
  • “Moribito II:  Guardian of the Darkness” by Nahoko Uehashi  (honor)


Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement first-ever award of Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement.  This award pays tribute to the quality and magnitude of beloved children’s author Virginia Hamilton.

  • Walter Dean Myers

Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults

  • Jim Murphy

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: