2010 Literary Award Winners!

John Newbery Medal for most outstanding contribution to children’s literature

  • “When You Reach Me” by Rebecca Stead  (winner)
  • “Claudette Colvin:  Twice Toward Justice” by Phillip Hoose  (honor)
  • “The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate” by Jacqueline Kelly (honor)
  • “Where the Mountain Meets the Moon” by Grace Lin  (honor)
  • “The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg”  (honor)

Randolph Caldecott Medal for most distinguished American picture book for children

  • “The Lion & the Mouse” written and illustrated by Jerry Pinkney,   (winner)
  • “”All the World” by Liz Garton Scanlon, illustrated by Marla Frazee  (honor)
  • “Red Sings from Treetops:  A Year in Colors” by Joyce Sidman, illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski  (honor)

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults

  • “Going Bovine” by Libba Bray  (winner)
  • “Charles and Emma:  The Darwins’ Leap of Faith” by Deborah Heiligman  (honor)
  • “The Monstrumologist” by Rick Yancey  (honor)
  • “Punkzilla” by Adam Rapp  (honor)
  • “Tales of the Madman Underground:  An Historical romance, 1973” by John Barnes  (honor)

Coretta Scott King (Author) book Award recognizing an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults

  • “Bad News for Outlaws:  The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshal” by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson  (winner)
  • “Mare’s War” by Tanita S. Davis  (honor)

Coretta Scott King (illustrator) Book Award

  • “My People” by Langston Hughes, illustrated by Charles R. Smith Jr.  (winner)
  • “The Negro Speaks of Rivers” by Langston Hughes, illustrated by E.B. Lewis  (honor)

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award

  • “The Rock and the River” by Kekla Magoon  (winner)

Pura Belpre (illustrator) Award honoring a Latino writer and illustrator whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience

  • “Book Fiesta!  Celebrate Children’s Day/Book Day; Celebremos El dia de los ninos/el dia de los libros” by Pat Mora, illustrated by Rafael Lopez  (winner)
  • “Diego:  Bigger Than Life” by Carmen T. Barnier-Grand, illustrated by David Diaz  (honor)
  • “My Abuelita” by Tony Johnston, illustrated by Yuyi Morales  (honor)
  • “Gracias Thanks” by Pat Mora, illustrated by John Parra  (honor)

Pura Belpre (Author) Award

  • “Return to Sender” by Julia Alvarez (winner)
  • “Diego:  Bigger Than Life” by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand  (honor)
  • “Federico Garcia Lorca” by Georgina Lazaro (honor)

Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience

  • “Django” by Bonnie Christensen  (wins award for best young children ages 0 – 10)
  • “Anything But Typical” by Nora Raleigh Baskin  (wins award for middle grades, ages 11 – 13)
  • “Marcelo in the Real World” by Francisco X. Stork  (wins teen award, ages 13 – 18)

William C. Morris Award honors a book written by a first-time author for young adults

  • Flash Burnout” by L.K. Madigan

Odyssey Award is awarded for excellence in audiobook production

  • “Louise, the Adventures of a Chicken” by Kate DiCamillo, narrated by Barbara Rosenblat  (winner)
  • “In the Belly of the Bloodhound:  Being an Account of a Particularly Peculiar Adventure in the Life of Jacky Faber” by L.A. Meyer, narrated by Katherine Kellgren  (honor)
  • “Peace, Locomotion” by Jacqueline Woodson, narrated by Dion Graham  (honor)
  • “We Are The Ship:  The Story of Negro League Baseball” by Kadir Nelson, narrated by Dion Graham  (honor)

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for most distinguished beginning reader book

  • “Benny and Penny in the Big No-No!” by Geoffrey Hayes  (winner)
  • “I Spy Fly Guy!” by Tedd Arnold  (honor)
  • “Little Mouse Gets Ready” by Jeff Smith  (honor)
  • “Mouse and Mole:  Fine Feathered Friends”  (honor)
  • “Pearl and Wagner:  One Funny Day” by Kate McMullan  (honor)

Robert F. Sibert Medal for most distinguished informational book for children

  • “Almost Astronauts:  13 Women Who Dared to Dream” by Tanya Lee Stone  (winner)
  • “The Day-Glo Brothers:  The True Story of Bob and Joe Switzer’s Bright Ideas and Brand-New Colors” by Chris Barton  (honor)
  • “Moonshot:  The Flight of Apollo 11” by Brian Floca  (honor)
  • “Claudette Colvin:  Twice Toward Justice: by Phillip Hoose  (honor)

YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award is the first-ever Young Adult Library Services Association Excellence in Nonfiction Award

  • “Charles and Emma:  The Darwins’ Leap of Faith” by Deborah Heiligman

Mildred L. Batchelder Award for an outstanding children’s book translated from a foreign language and subsequently published in the United States

  • “A Faraway Island” by Annika Thor  (winner)
  • “Big Wolf and Little Wolf” by Nadine Brun-Cosme  (honor)
  • “Eidi” by Bodil Bredsdorff  (honor)
  • “Moribito II:  Guardian of the Darkness” by Nahoko Uehashi  (honor)


Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement first-ever award of Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement.  This award pays tribute to the quality and magnitude of beloved children’s author Virginia Hamilton.

  • Walter Dean Myers

Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults

  • Jim Murphy

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Librarian Appreciation Day!

April 13th is Librarian Appreciation Day…can YOU spot the Librarian? Enjoy these creepy costumes from Halloween when your favorite librarians turned into goth librarians!

%d bloggers like this: